College of Engineering Awards

Faculty Mentoring Award

The Faculty Mentoring Award for the College of Engineering was established in 2013. The award is presented each year to an individual faculty member in the College of Engineering for demonstrated excellence in the mentoring of one or more early-career faculty members within the College. Recipient(s) of this award will be honored at the annual College of Engineering Faculty Awards Banquet.

Not currently accepting nominations.


This award is open to Tenure Track, Clinical and Research Faculty.

The award will be presented to an individual College of Engineering faculty member who has demonstrated excellence in mentoring of one or more early-career faculty members in the College.


Early-career faculty members (assistant or early associate professors) or Full Professors (who were mentored by the nominee in their early career) may submit nominations in the form of a nominating letter (two pages or less). Nomination letters may be submitted by either individual or multiple faculty members as a single nomination letter. The nominating letter should address the following:

  1. Describe the primary activity and accomplishment that supports consideration for the Faculty Mentoring Award.
  2. Explain how this activity and accomplishment demonstrates mentoring excellence. What is especially outstanding and/or creative about this mentorship activity?

Reminder: The nomination letter must be two pages or less, and be on college or department letterhead. Include a proposed citation (25 words or less) at the bottom of the nomination letter. The committee may disqualify nominations that do not meet this requirement.

Selection Committee

The College of Engineering Faculty Awards Committee will evaluate nominations and make a recommendation to the Dean of the College of Engineering, who selects the award recipient.


The application materials need to be submitted electronically and must be submitted by January 05, 2024.

Past Recipients

Year Awardees
2023 Gil Bohrer, civil, environmental, and geodetic engineering
2022 Liang-Shih Fan, chemical and biomolecular engineering
2021 Umit Ozkan, chemical and biomolecular engineering
Giorgio Rizzoni, mechanical and aerospace engineering
2020 Keith Gooch, biomedical engineering
2019 Dorothée Imbert, KSA, landscape architecture
Michael Mills, materials science and engineering
2018 Stuart Cooper, chemical and biomolecular engineering
2017 Karen Mancl, food, agricultural and biological engineering
Steve Ringel, electrical and computer engineering
2016 Betty Lise Anderson,  electrical and computer engineering
2015 Longya Xu, electrical and computer engineering
2014 Jose Castro, integrated systems engineering
Ness Shroff, computer science and engineering