College of Engineering Awards

Distinction in Safety Award

The Distinction in Safety Award for the College of Engineering was established in 2019 and recognizes a faculty member or research scientist who has demonstrated a longstanding commitment and contribution to safety. The recipient of this award will be honored at the annual College of Engineering Faculty Awards Banquet.

Not currently accepting nominations.


The award will be presented to an individual College of Engineering faculty or research scientist member who has demonstrated excellence in positively promoting a culture of safety. Such contributions can be defined as but are not limited to actions taken to prevent injury or illness, outstanding response and cooperation given to resolve unsafe conditions, consistent improvement and participation during laboratory inspections, a commitment to safety education and training, or any other consistent and proactive demonstration of efforts in support of a culture of safety

** Candidates must have at least two years of service with the College of Engineering before becoming eligible for the award **


Faculty members, staff members, and students may submit nominations in the form of a nominating letter (two pages or less). Nomination letters may be submitted by either individual or multiple members as a single nomination letter. The nominating letter should address the following:

  1. Describe the primary activity and/or action(s) that supports consideration for the Distinction in Safety Award.
  2. Explain how this activity and/or action(s) demonstrates a commitment to safety. How has this person contributed to creating and maintaining a strong safety culture?

Reminder: The nomination letter must be two pages or less, and be on college or department letterhead. Include a proposed citation (25 words or less) at the bottom of the nomination letter. The committee may disqualify nominations that do not meet this requirement.

Selection Committee

The College of Engineering Facilities and Safety Services Team will evaluate nominations and make a recommendation to the Dean of the College of Engineering, who selects the award recipient.


The application materials need to be submitted electronically and must be submitted by January 05, 2024.

Past Recipients

Year Awardees
2023 Rachel Childers, biomedical engineering
2022 Andrew Maxson, chemical and biomolecular engineering
2021 Gregg Chapman, electrical and computer engineering
2020 Samir Ghadiali, bme