College of Engineering Awards

BEWEL Leadership in Innovation Award

The Buckeye Engineering Women in Executive Leadership (BEWEL) "Leadership in Innovation Award" is presented to a junior or mid-career faculty member in the College of Engineering who demonstrates excellence in leadership, innovation, research, and scholarship, and is committed to the advancement of women in engineering. The recipient of this award will be honored at the annual College of Engineering Faculty Awards Banquet.

Not currently accepting nominations.


The award will be presented to a junior or mid-career (tenure-track assistant professor, associate professor, or equivalent) faculty member of the College of Engineering who demonstrates excellence in leadership, innovation, research, and scholarship. Additionally, the recipient shall demonstrate evidence of supporting BEWEL's vision to make the College of Engineering a destination of choice for women students and faculty.


For those nominating:

Faculty and staff in the College of Engineering may make nominations in the form of a one or two-page (maximum) nominating letter. Each department or school may nominate up to two candidates. Faculty and staff from other Ohio State colleges or external entities who are collaborators with the nominee may also make nominations. All nominations must be on official organization letterhead.

The nominating letter should address the following as demonstrated by the qualified candidate.

  • Leadership.
  • Innovation as demonstrated through:
    • Research and/or development of new methods, ideas or devices.
    • Scholarship (academic attainment, activities, quality).

For the candidate:

  1. In a few sentences, please respond to the following two prompts:
    1. Describe your commitment to the advancement of women within the college (ex: role model.)
    2. Provide an example of a particular situation where your leadership skills were imperative in navigating a successful outcome.
  2. Provide a curriculum vitae.
  3. Include a proposed citation at the bottom of your submission.

Please combine all documents (including nomination letter) and submit as one PDF file. Document title should be in the format LASTNAME.DEPT.BEWEL2024. For example: SMITH.MAE.BEWEL2024.

Selection Committee

One BEWEL member, one member of the NSF-funded ADVANCE Resource and Coordination (ARC) Network, and one member representing the College of Engineering (leadership or senior faculty) will evaluate applicants. The selection committee will recommend a recipient to the Dean of the College of Engineering, with the Dean determining final selection.


The application materials need to be submitted electronically and must be submitted by January 05, 2024.

Past Recipients

Year Awardees
2023 Katelyn Swindle-Reilly, biomedical engineering
2022 Hongping Zhao, electrical and computer engineering
2021 Asimina Kiourti, electrical and computer engineering
2020 Karen Dannemiller, civil, environmental and geodetic engineering