College of Engineering Awards

Texnikoi Outstanding Alumni

The Texnikoi Award was first presented in 1955 and has been given annually since then. The requirements of the recipient are as follows: A person who has risen rapidly in the field of engineering. A person who has made outstanding contributions through civic and social activities. Approximately 40 years of age or under. A person from one of the engineering departments not recognized in the recent past. The precedence has been established that a department should not be considered for two years after one of their alumni receives the award.

Not currently accepting nominations.

Texnikoi is an organization of undergraduate students in the College of Engineering that recognizes qualities of leadership, integrity and personality as exemplified by active participation and leadership in extracurricular activities. Each year the active membership of Texnikoi selects one of the younger alumni of the College of Engineering as a recipient of the Texnikoi Outstanding Alumni Award. This award is based upon their achievements since graduation, evaluated in light of the objectives of Texnikoi.

2017 Texnikoi Outstanding Alumni Award Recipient

Adina D. Sterling

Adina D. Sterling is an assistant professor of organizational behavior at Stanford University’s Graduate School of Business, one of the most prestigious business schools in the country. She teaches classes on strategy, organizational design, and building diverse and inclusive organizations. Prior to joining Stanford in 2015, Sterling spent four years as an assistant professor of strategy at Washington University’s Olin Business School in St. Louis.

In her research, Sterling investigates processes that occur at the intersection of labor markets and organizations. As an economic sociologist trained in organizational theory, she actively studies how organizations acquire and retain high-value human capital, the influence of organizational hiring practices on the short- and long-term consequences of individual and firm performance, and the effect of firm practices on various demographic groups and society.

Her work has been published in top academic outlets, including Management Science and Organization Science. She actively mentors and teaches PhD students, and received the 2017 Distinguished Service Award in recognition of her work at Stanford.

Prior to her career in academia, Sterling spent five years as a senior engineer at Procter and Gamble, where she worked on technical design and consumer research for products such as Pampers diapers and Oil of Olay body wash.

In addition to her demonstrated excellence in engineering and business academia, she has devoted time to supporting STEM education, serving as a mentor to undergraduates at Washington University; championing women, girls and minorities as a member of the Clayman Gender Institute; and working on the PhD Project with the Minority Faculty of Color Association.

Sterling earned a bachelor’s in chemical engineering (’02) from Ohio State and her PhD in organization and management (’11) from Goizueta Business School at Emory University.

Past Recipients

Year Awardees
2017 Adina D. Sterling, CHE 02
2016 Jonathan Blank, MSE 01, 02, 08
2015 Chakka Parker, ECE 02, EE 04
2014 Gary O. Spitznogle, CHE 98
2013 Tamer Ibrahim, EE 96, 98, 03
2012 James I. Hileman, ME 98, 00, 04
2011 Jackie Marshall DiMarco, ME 95, 96
2009 Daniel Wieczynski, ME 90
2008 Vineet Arya, EE, FCOB 93, 00
2007 John Russell, ME, 94, 00
2006 Karen Eisenloffel, ARCH, CE 83, 90
2005 Steven Auvil, ME 88
2004 John Rudolph, ISE 90
2003 Marybeth Lima, AG 88,FAB 96
2002 Nancy Porter, WE 85
2001 Richard Brandon, CHE 83
2000 Wes Blankenship, ME 86, 88, 91
1999 John Ludwig, EE 82
1998 Nancy Dawes, CHE 81
1997 David Tatman, IE 80
1996 Douglas Brown, CHE 78, 79
1994 Jacquelyn Kovach, WE 76
1993 Gary Tatterson, CHE 74, 77
1992 Colette Pierce-Burnette, ISE 80
1991 Karen Murphy, CHE 79
1990 Douglas Smith, CHE 68, 69
1989 Dr. Kenneth McKelvey, CHE 67, 68
1988 Jeffrey Rodek, ME 75
1987 Dr. Eric Grulke, CHE 71,72,75
1986 John Salladay, CHE 68, 68
1985 Dr. Eugene Jarrett, CHE 66, 68
1984 Bruce Wilson, MIN 65
1983 Kerry Hertenstein, CHE 71,71
1982 Thad Perry, ISE 67
1981 Karen Hendricks, CHE 71
1980 Thomas L. Thomas, EE 66, 66
1979 William Lowrie, CHE 66
1977 William Fuller, IE 48
1975 Robert Stafford, EE 61
1974 Thomas Eyerman, ARCH 63
1973 Philip Stevens, IE 56
1972 Larry Hench, CER 64
1971 Thomas Fitz, CHE 66
1970 Dr. Earl Dietz, CER 59
1969 James Bassett, LARCH 52
1968 Phillip Bowser, ME 50
1964 Kent Brandt, ARCH 51
1963 James Farst, CHE 56
1962 Dr. James Johnson, CER 47
1959 Robert Sessions, IE 48
1958 John Wright, MIN 49, 50