College of Engineering Awards

Meritorious Service Citation

This special citation was established by the faculty of the College of Engineering in 1975 to recognize people "whose sustained and extraordinary personal service has had significant and lasting effect on the advancement of the College of Engineering." Members of the faculty and the Dean of Engineering may nominate people to be recognized.

Not currently accepting nominations.

2018 Meritorious Service Citation Recipient

John Lindberg

John Lindberg has been in the security alarm business since 1978. He founded Dial One Security in 1979 and acquired ownership of Alarm Monitoring of Cincinnati, Inc., in 1990. He remains active in both companies.

As president of the Austin Knowlton Foundation, Lindberg also works to advance Ohio higher education through philanthropy. The Knowlton Foundation was established by 'Dutch' Knowlton (’31, architectural engineering) in 1981 to support higher education in Ohio. Recent commitments include a $10 million gift to Ohio State to upgrade its aviation education and research facilities and The Ohio State University Airport terminal, an $8 million gift to Wooster College for a new science building, a $4 million gift to Bluffton University for a new science and math building, and a $9 million grant to Dennison University for the Knowlton Center for Career Exploration.

Lindberg was a member of the Cincinnati Bengals board of directors from 1991 to 2001, representing Knowlton's ownership of the Bengals. Currently, he is a director of the Ohio State Foundation Board, and a board member of the Camping and Outdoor Education Foundation. Lindberg and his companies are also active in the local community, where he works with the City of Cincinnati's False Alarm Reduction Unit's Citizen Education program and participates in its Adopt-A-Block program. Dial One Security has been presented the Honeywell Dealer Community Service Award every year since 2004 and was recognized as a BBB Torch Award winner for Business Ethics in 2013.

Lindberg earned a bachelor’s in electrical engineering (’84) from The Ohio State University.

Past Recipients

Year Awardees
2018 John Lindberg, EE 84
2017 Doug Ball, AAE 74, 75
2016 Daniel Kimmet, ME 71, 72
2015 George J. Kontogiannis
2014 H.R. Ransom, ARCH 61
2013 James F. Dietz, CHE 69, 70 
2011 Robert J. Shaw, AERO 70, 79
2010 Elliot B. Ross, WE 69
2008 Mark Eisenman, CE 73
2007 Ballard Power Systems Inc.
2006 Peter Miller
2005 Bruce Lavash, ME 77, 78
2004 Michael Colburn, IE 64, 86
2003 Dwight Blaser, ME 66, 67, 71
2002 William Lowrie, CHE 66
2000 James Marshall, FCOB 66
1999 Ronald Harris, CHE 61
1998 Charles Morin, METE 72
1997 J. Richard Schorr, CER 63, 64, 69
1996 Donald Glower
1995 Marian Smith, ME 48
Ralph Rockow, ME 58
1994 Richard Baker, ME 69
1993 Abba Lichtenstein, CE 48
Richard Frasher, ME 58
1992 John Shepherd, CER 58
James Rucker, IE 67
1991 Bruce Higham, IE 43
David Davis, MINE 33, METE 34
Richard Campbell, WE 55
1990 Richard Trott, ARCH 61
Thomas Chase, METE 49
1989 Sam Whalen, METE 51
William Grimes, CHE 50
1988 Rudolph Edse
Arthur Avril, MINE 25
1987 Forrest Poling, ME 48
Clarence Jackson
1986 Max Holzer, ME 54
Leland Brubaker, ARCH 49
1985 Paul Santilli, CHE 51
Jason Lemon, ME 62
1984 Edward Ungar, ME 59, 86
Frank Geyer, IE 38, 47
1983 Richard R. Stander, CE 40
John Saalfield, CE 36
1982 Elmer Timby, CE 28
John Brothers
1981 James Foley, ARCH 50
Ralph Boyer, ME 24, 30
1980 John White, ME 52
Robert McMaster
1979 James Pierce, IE 55
1978 Frederick Meyers, ME 49
1977 Albert Schafer, IE 58
1976 Edward Slowter, CHE 34