College of Engineering Awards

Ralph L. Boyer Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Engineering Innovation

The Ralph L. Boyer Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Engineering Innovation was established in 1988 by Ralph L. Boyer, a 1924 Ohio State graduate in mechanical engineering. The recipient of this award will be honored at the annual College of Engineering Faculty Awards Banquet.

Not currently accepting nominations.


The award will be presented to a faculty team or to an individual faculty member in the College of Engineering that has made outstanding contributions to the improvement of undergraduate engineering education. The award is meant to recognize the demonstrated impact of innovation in the education process, including the design, development and application of new pedagogy, teaching tools (e.g., multi-media), and assessment methodologies on the overall quality of the undergraduate engineering education process/experience at Ohio State. Selection will favor faculty whose contributions have made important, pervasive improvements in the engineering education process with a significant potential for long term impact.

Please note that this award is not intended to recognize lifetime achievement or high teaching ability, or as a grant to support new ideas that have not been implemented.


Each department in the college may submit one team, or individual for nomination. The nomination packet should include 1.) A letter of nomination, 2.) At least one external letter of support, and 3.) Supporting materials. Supporting materials should be brief and to the point, yet with sufficient information to permit rational selection. At least one letter from an external source, solicited without input from the nominee, is required.

Reminder: The nomination letter must be two pages or less, and be on college or department letterhead. Include a proposed citation (25 words or less) at the bottom of the nomination letter. The committee may disqualify nominations that do not meet this requirement.

Selection Committee

The College of Engineering Faculty Awards Committee will evaluate nominations and make a recommendation to the Dean of the College of Engineering, who selects the award recipient.


The application materials need to be submitted electronically and must be submitted by January 05, 2024.

Past Recipients

Year Awardees
2023 Elvin Beach, materials science and engineering
2022 Sanjay Krishna, electrical and computer engineering
Kathryn Kelley, Ohio Manufacturing Institute
Bachelor of Science in Engineering Technology Team
2021 Tanya Nocera, biomedical engineering
2020 Alan Luo, materials science and engineering
2019 John Clay, chemical and biomolecular engineering
2018 Lee Potter, electrical and computer engineering
2017 Jacqueline Gargus, knowlton school of architecture
2016 Jeffrey Bons, mechanical and aerospace engineering
2015 Peter M. Anderson, materials science and engineering
Wolfgang Windl, materials science and engineering
2014 Frank Croft, civil, environmental and geodetic engineering
2013 Mechanical and aerospace engineering team:
Lisa M. Abrams
Chad E. Bivens
Blaine W. Lilly
Joseph D. West
2012 Jin Wang, electrical and computer engineering
2011 Furrukh Khan, electrical and computer engineering
2010 Robert A. Siston, mechanical engineering
2009 Bradley Clymer, electrical and computer engineering
2008 Kevin Passino, electrial and computer engineering
John Merrill, first-year engineering
Harold Walker, civil and environmental engineering and geodetic science
Roger Dzwonczyk, college of medicine
Erin Galloway, office of international affairs
2007 Andrew Ward, food, agricultural and biological engineering
2006 Peter Anderson, materials science and engineering
Neelam Soundarajan, computer science and engineering
2005 Ann Christy, food, agricultural and biological engineering
2004 David Tomasko, chemical engineering
Tony Luscher, mechanical engineering
2003 Blaine Lilly, industrial, welding and systems engineering
2002 Audeen Fentiman, civil and environmental engineering and geodetic science
2001 Yann Guezennec, mechanical engineering
Kay Bea Jones, architecture
2000 Tim Long, computer science and engineering
Bruce Weide, computer science and engineering
1999 The Freshman Engineering Honors Team
John Demel, engineering graphics
Richard Freuler, aeronautical and astronautical engineering
Nela Lakos, math
John Merrill, assessment
Michael Miller, engineering graphics
George Staab, mechanical engineering
Alan VanHeuvelen, physics
Many others have contributed to the planning and organization of the program and/or teaching honors classes.
1998 Gary Kinzel, mechanical engineering
1997 Peter M. Anderson, materials science and engineering
1996 James F. Davis, chemical engineering