College of Engineering Awards

Clara M. and Peter L. Scott Faculty Award for Excellence in Engineering Education

The Clara M. and Peter L. Scott Faculty Award for Excellence in Engineering Education was established in 1987 by Clara M. and Peter L. Scott (B.S. Electrical Engineering '49 DRH '95). Recipient of this award will be honored at the annual College of Engineering Faculty Awards Banquet.

Not currently accepting nominations.


The award will be made to a senior professor in engineering or architecture in the College of Engineering who has distinguished himself or herself nationally or internationally. The award will be based on excellence in teaching and the qualitative aspects of teaching with emphasis on effective innovation, and for outstanding fundamental or applied research contributions (in scope and/or originality) in one or more areas of endeavor. The award will be presented to an individual and may be awarded only once in a faculty member's career. Under unique circumstances, a team may be nominated for and receive the award.


One nomination may be submitted by each department in the college. The nomination packet will include 1.) A letter of nomination, 2.) Supporting materials, 3.) One to three letters of support, and 4.) The nominee's curriculum vitae. Nomination letters should be brief and to the point, yet include sufficient information to permit a rational selection. At least one letter from an external source, solicited without input from the nominee, is required. The total number of supporting letters (including the external letter) should not exceed three.

Reminder: The nomination letter must be two pages or less, and be on college or department letterhead. Include a proposed citation (25 words or less) at the bottom of the nomination letter. The committee may disqualify nominations that do not meet this requirement.

Selection Committee

The College of Engineering Faculty Awards Committee will evaluate the awards and make their recommendation to the Dean; one or more representatives from the College of Engineering faculty, one or more representatives external to the University, and one graduate and one undergraduate member of the engineering student body will also review the nominations independently and their selections will be presented to the Dean.

Final decision will be made by the Dean of the College of Engineering.


The application materials need to be submitted electronically and must be submitted by January 05, 2024.

Past Recipients

Year Awardees
2023 Shag-Tian Yang, chemical and biomolecular engineering
2022 Jeffrey Chalmers, chemical and biomolecular engineering
2021 Bhavik Bakshi, chemical and biomolecular engineering
2020 Kevin Passino, electrical and computer engineering
2019 Joel Johnson, electrical and computer engineering
2018 Gerald Frankel, materials science and engineering
2017 Giorgio Rizzoni, mechanical and aerospace engineering
2016 Bharat Bhushan, mechanical and aerospace engineering
2015 Ness Shroff, computer science and engineering
2014 Joseph Heremans, mechanical and aerospace engineering
2013 Mo Samimy, mechanical and aerospace engineering
2012 Steven A. Ringel, electrical and computer engineering
2011 Stuart Cooper, chemical and biomolecular engineering
2010 John L. Volakis, electrical and computer engineering
2009 William Marras, integrated systems engineering
2008 James Williams, materials science and engineering
2007 Hojjat Adeli, civil and environmental engineering and geodetic science
2006 Robert Wagoner, materials science and engineering mechanical engineering
2005 Jose Cruz Jr., electrical and computer engineering
2004 Umit S. Ozkan, chemical engineering
2003 Chia-Hsiang Menq, mechanical engineering
2002 L. James Lee, chemical engineering
2001 Martin Feinberg, chemical engineering
2000 Cheena Srinivasan, mechanical engineering
1999 L.S. Fan, chemical engineering
1998 David Rigney, materials science and engineering
1997 Stephen Sebo, electrical engineering
1996 Jacques L. Zakin, chemical engineering