College of Engineering Awards

Innovators Award

The Innovators Award for the College of Engineering was established by the Engineering Experiment Station in 2007. The award is presented each year to an individual or team of faculty and/or research scientists who best demonstrate innovation in the development of a product and/or technology originating from the Ohio State research enterprise. Innovation is defined as the act, process or product that creates a new dimension of performance. This award recognizes the achievements of an individual or team whose innovation has successfully translated the research emanating from our laboratories into new products and/or technologies that can be used by the public at large. Recipient(s) of this award will be honored at the annual College of Engineering Faculty Awards Banquet.

Not currently accepting nominations.


The award will be made to an individual or team of College of Engineering faculty and/or research scientists in engineering or architecture who demonstrate excellence in innovation within their field. The innovation can be the translation or application of research outcomes into a product, design or process, but it must exhibit technological novelty. The award selection will be made based on the innovation’s impact, novelty, connection to the research enterprise and societal benefit.


Faculty members of the College of Engineering may make nominations. The nomination package should consist of 1.) A nominating letter, 2.) Supporting materials and 3.) A curriculum vitae of the nominee. Please keep your materials brief and to the point, yet with sufficient information to permit a rational selection. The nomination letter should address the following:

  1. Describe the primary reason why this entry should be considered for the Innovators Award.
  2. Describe to what extent the entry exploits and explores creative and original concepts.
  3. Describe the principal applications of the innovation, any other applications for which it can now be used, and the benefit to society.

Reminder: The nomination letter must be two pages or less, and be on college or department letterhead. Include a proposed citation (25 words or less) at the bottom of the nomination letter. The committee may disqualify nominations that do not meet this requirement.

Selection Committee

The College of Engineering Faculty Awards Committee will evaluate the awards and make their recommendation to the Dean; the Associate Dean for Research, and one or more representatives from the private sector will also review the nominations independently and make their recommendations to the Dean.

Final decision will be made by the Dean of the College of Engineering.


The application materials need to be submitted electronically and must be submitted by January 05, 2024.

Past Recipients

Year Awardees
2023 Katrina Cornish, FAES-HCS
2022 Katelyn Swindle-Reilly, biomedical engineering/chemical and biomolecular engineering
2021 Perena Gouma, materials science and engineering
2020 Emre Koksal, electrical and computer engineering
2019 Yi Zhao, biomedical engineeering
2018 Jessica Winter, chemical and biomolecular engineering
2017 Bharat Bhushan, mechanical and aerospace engineering
2016 Chi-Chih Chen, electrical and computer engineering
Can Emre Koksal, electrical and computer engineering
2015 James W. Davis, computer science and engineering
2014 John Lannutti, materials science and engineering
2013 Kubilay Sertel, electrical and computer engineering
2012 L.S. Fan, chemical and biomolecular engineering
2011 Dhabaleswar Panda, computer science and engineering
2010 Joseph P. Heremans, mechanical engineering
2009 Glenn Daehn, materials science and engineering
Ahmet Selamet, mechanical engineering
2008 W.S. Winston Ho, chemical and biomolecular engineering
Rongxing Li, civil and environmental engineering and geodetic science
2007 Betty Lise Anderson, electrical and computer engineering