College of Engineering Awards

"Building Bridges" Excellence Award

The “Building Bridges” Excellence Award for the College of Engineering was established in 2007. The award is presented each year to a non-COE faculty member at The Ohio State University whose collaborative work with the College of Engineering has advanced the excellence, impact and reputation of both colleges and the University. The recipient of the award will be honored at the annual College of Engineering Faculty Awards Banquet.

Not currently accepting nominations.


The award will be made to an individual faculty member outside of the College of Engineering for demonstrated excellence and accomplishment in the development and implementation of collaborative activities and programs between their academic unit and the College of Engineering. Consideration will be given to how this collaboration advances excellence and impact in education, research, and/or outreach and engagement of both organizations.


College of Engineering Faculty and staff may make nominations. Please limit your nomination to two pages or less and provide supporting materials that are brief and concise, yet with sufficient information to permit a rational selection. The nominating letter should address the following:

  1. Describe the primary activity and accomplishment that supports consideration for the “Building Bridges” Excellence Award.
  2. Explain how this activity and accomplishment promotes the achievement of excellence and impact in the College of Engineering and other organizations within the university.

Reminder: The nomination letter must be two pages or less, and be on college or department letterhead. Include a proposed citation (25 words or less) at the bottom of the nomination letter. The committee may disqualify nominations that do not meet this requirement.

Selection Committee

The College of Engineering Faculty Awards Committee will evaluate nominations and make a recommendation to the Dean of the College of Engineering, who selects the award recipient.


The application materials need to be submitted electronically and must be submitted by January 05, 2024.

Past Recipients

Year Awardees
2023 Jonathan Godbout, OSUMC-CBI
2022 Matthew Ringel, The Wexner Medical Center
2021 Andrew Bowman, College of Veterinary Medicine
Matthew Exline, The Wexner Medical Center
2019 Peter Mohler, College of Medicine
2018 Subha Raman, College of Medicine
2017 Jose Otero, College of Medicine
2016 P. Chris Hammel, Department of Physics
2015 Gustavo Leone,  College of Medicine
2014 Douglas Kniss, College of Medicine
2013 Prabir K. Dutta, Department of Chemistry
2012 Chandan K. Sen, College of Medicine
2011 Carolina Gill, College of Arts and Humanities
2010 Susan V. Olesik, Department of Chemistry
2009 David Hart, College of Mathematical and Physical Sciences
2008 Dean Karen A. Bell, College of the Arts
2007 Alayne Parson, College of Mathematical and Physical Sciences